Pop-up Profile: Hapa Ramen

Hapa Ramen has redefined traditional ramen by keeping things simple. That means using fresh and local ingredients only, and giving it their own style. They swear by using the best local ingredients that produce the best results. Ramen heroes Richie Nakano and Susanna Ok have stuck to creating what they love and make some seriously good food.

Richie Nakano, formersous chef at Nopa, started making ramen because he found that nobody was using really good ingredients. This inspired his dedication to use local farmers like Knoll and Marin Roots. Nakano told Menuism that “the idea with the ramen was to form a cuisine that has its roots in traditional Asian cookery, but that draws on Western techniques and ingredients to elevate itself.”

Though Hapa Ramen has been around since before I moved to San Francisco, I just recently made my way to one of their pop-ups to check them out. Why didn’t I go sooner? I have no idea, but I was stupid and didn’t. My first experience was when they popped-up at Wing Wings (which is another great joint! As the name says, they make wings. They have these “angry Korean” wings that keep me coming back) in the Lower Haight. I had their staple tonkatsu ramen and it was love at first slurp. The depth of flavor in their pork broth surpassed every other ramen place in the city (including Katana-ya, in my opinion). Hapa Ramen isn’t traditional, like they say, but it tastes really good. So I could care less if it’s made the old school way.

Nakano and his team are in the works of opening a brick and mortar, which I’M SO EXCITED FOR. The lease has been signed and is ready to go! (They used the oh-so-clever Kickstarter to raise enough money to replace their worn equipment and to help with building their kitchen.) I talked to Ok at last week’s pop-up at Wing Wings and she mentioned that once construction issues are finished, they’ll be open! After a few years of borrowing kitchens and cooking out of stands, their team is looking forward to having a place of their own. The spot will be at 1527 Fillmore St. and will be called Hapa. Until then, follow their Twitter to find out where they’ll be next.

Oh! And lucky for us, Hapa Ramen will continue to have their stand at the Ferry Building every Tuesday and Thursday! Which I must say will be crucial in my survival of the upcoming winter.

Until you get your hands on a bowl, check out their Tumblr for great drool-ery.

Leave a comment